Skip to main content
Learning corner
News article10 January 2023Directorate-General for Communication1 min read

Swedish Presidency of the EU

You might know that the Presidency of the European Union (EU) rotates among the EU countries. Since 1 January, it has been Sweden’s turn to hold the Presidency.  

© Good Studio/ AdobeStock

But did you know that Sweden forms a trio with the two countries which it follows? Together with France, which held the Presidency in the first half of 2022, and the Czechia, which held the Presidency in the second half of 2022, Sweden has developed a programme setting out common priorities for the three Presidencies.

The trio's programme covers a longer period, as it lasts 18 months, from 1 January 2022 to 30 June 2023.

France, Czechia and Sweden have identified four priority areas:

  • Protecting citizens and freedoms
  • Developing our economic base and the European model for the future
  • Building a climate-neutral, green, fair and social Europe
  • Promoting Europe’s interests and values in the world

To find out more about the Swedish presidency of the EU, its priorities, planned cultural events, and how its logo was chosen,click here



Publication date
10 January 2023
Directorate-General for Communication